Rutgers, Africana Studies

Africana Studies Courses–Fall 2011

 

We reserve the right to change or cancel classes. Please check the official University Schedule of Classes for the most updated information including the location and time.

IMPORTANT: THE AFRICANA STUDIES DEPARTMENT OFFICE DOES NOT GIVE OUT SPECIAL PERMISSION NUMBERS. PLEASE CONTACT THE INSTRUCTOR DIRECTLY IF YOU SEEK SPECIAL PERMISSION INTO ANY AFRICANA STUDIES COURSE.

For building location and information, please click here.

To access the catalogue description of our courses please click here

Course Number

Title

Instructor

01:014:103:01

Introduction to Africana Studies

Jackson-Brewer, K. kjb@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:103:02

Introduction to Africana Studies

Bonadie, D.

bonadie@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:132:01

The Black Experience and the Film Medium

Brown, A.

optimus@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:140:01

Introduction to American Cultures

Ramachandran, K.

kavitha@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:203:01

The Black Experience in America

Ramsamy, E.

ramsamy@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:212:01

Politics and Power in Modern Africa: Feminism in Modern Africa

Gardiner, M. murvgard@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:213:01

Blacks in History

Godonoo, P. godonoo@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:222:01

The Black Elite: Race, Money and Markets

Prisock, L.

lgp20@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:223:01

Independent Study

By arrangement

01:014:230:01

Psychology of the Black Experience

Reed, S.G.

sgeoreed@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:233:01

Introduction to Methodology of Africana Studies

Bonadie, D. bonadie@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:240:01

Third World Creative Writing: Blacks in Entertainment

Richmond, V.

bcommunity411@yahoo.com

01:014:255:01

The History of Black Education in the US

Westbrook, R.

ranwest@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:258:01

Intellectual Thought in the Black Diaspora

Westbrook, R.

ranwest@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:269:01

Black Religion

Bethel, L.

bethel@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:274:01

Black Civilizations

Nash, M.

minash@andromeda.rutgers.edu

01:014:285:01

African American Narrative Analysis

Ramachandran, A.

anitha@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:301:01

Topics in Africana Studies: Masculinities in Education

Monk, J.

jmonk@pegasus.rutgers.edu

01:014:301:02

Topics in Africana Studies: African Americans and Sports

Plummer, J. sirjoel@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:301:03

Topics in Africana Studies: Urban Theater Production

Richmond, V. bcommunity411@yahoo.com

01:014:301:05

Topics in Africana Studies: Blacks in the American Political System

Price, M. mtprice@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:301:06

Topics in Africana Studies: The Politics of Minority Coalitions

Price, M. mtprice@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:304:01

Afromusicology

Greer, A. greerd@eden.rutgers.edu

01:014:304:02

Afromusicology

Greer, A. greerd@eden.rutgers.edu

01:014:306:01

Black Women in a Political Context

Tate, G.

gatate@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:317:01

Black Profiles: Zora Neale Hurston & Eddie Murphy in African American Cultural History

Ramachandran, A.

anitha@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:323:01

Seminar in the Philosophy of Africana Studies

Bethel, L.

bethel@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:330:01

Contemporary Issues in Southern Africa

Johnson, W. waltonj@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:341:01

Supervised Community Placement

Godonoo, P.

godonoo@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:347:01

Health Issues in the African American Community

Khan, K. khan@biology.rutgers.edu

01:014:349:01

Topics in American Politics: The American Century

Davis, W. wdavis@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:349:02

Topics in American Politics: Entrepreneurs and the Law

Bethea, D.

dbethea.esq@gmail.com

01:014:355:01

Blacks and Economic Structures

Paxton, J.

jpaxton@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:357:01

Islam in the Black Experience

Nash, M. minash@andromeda.rutgers.edu

01:014:362:01

Black Identity, Religion and Politics

Gardiner, M.

murvgard@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:363:01

Race, Class, Gender and Schooling

Catching, C.

catching@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:365:01

Black Migration and Urbanization

Ramachandran, K.

kavitha@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:371:01

African Development

Johnson, W.

waltonj@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:376:01

Pan-African Movement

Bonadie, D.

bonadie@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:380:01

Blacks in Science: Ancient and Modern

Olubayi, O.

olubayi@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:404:01

Seminar in Contemporary Race Relations

Johnson, W.

waltonj@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:410:01

Afro-Brazilian History

Butler, K.

kbutler@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:481:01

The Black Family

Whitney, J.

jhwiii@echo.rutgers.edu

 

01:014:490:01

Seminar in Africana Studies

Cobb, W.

wcobb@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:490:02

Seminar in Africana Studies

Butler, K.

kbutler@africana.rutgers.edu

01:014:491:01

Independent Study

By arrangement

01:014:497:01

The Africana Studies Scholars Project

By arrangement

Course Offerings

Undergraduate

undergraduate students

Core Faculty

faculty

40th Anniversary

40 anniversary

Important Words

  • Paul Robeson
    Paul Robeson
    We must join with the tens of millions all over the world who see in peace our most sacred responsibility.